Workshops

The Counseling Department offers informational workshops to educate students and assist them in reaching their academic/career goals.  See below for more details.    

EDUCATIONAL PLANNING WORKSHOP (EPW)

All new students are required to attend an Educational Planning Workshop (EPW) where you will meet with a counselor to create your first year plan using DegreeWorks.  The counseling team will make sure you get off to a good start!  Pre-registration is required, seating is limited.  Bring a copy of your current high school transcript to the workshop.  Follow the link to register for an EPW.     

 GRADES MATTER WORKSHOP

The Counseling Department has developed this workshop to help students understand his/her academic and/or progress standing.  Students will learn strategies to get back on track and regain good standing with the college.  The workshop will also cover the consequences of being on probation such as unit limitation, financial aid eligibility, and priority registration.  Students who receive a probation email notification are strongly encouraged to attend the workshop.

Santa Maria Campus 
February 27 Tuesday 3:30-5 p.m. A-403
March 13 Tuesday 10-11:30 a.m. A-403
March 21 Wednesday 3:30-5 p.m. A-403
April 10 Tuesday 10-11:30 a.m. A-403
April 25 Wednesday 3:30-5 p.m. A-403
May 8 Tuesday 10-11:30 a.m. A-403

 

   Lompoc Valley Center
February 1 Thursday 1-2:30 p.m. Bldg 1-202/203
February 20 Tuesday 4-5:30 p.m. Bldg 1-202/203
March 13 Tuesday 10-11:30 a.m. Bldg 1-202/203
March 29 Thursday 12-1:30 p.m. Bldg 1-202/203
May 8 Tuesday 3:30-5 p.m. Bldg 1-202/203

 

TIME MANAGEMENT WORKSHOP

The Counseling Department has developed this workshop to help students enrich their time management skills.  The workshop will provide students with tools and guidance and learn how to use their time more effectively.  In addition, this workshop will cover common obstacles to effective time management that will help students assess their won time and priorities.

Santa Maria Campus 
February 13 Tuesday 12:30-2 p.m. K-25
February 27 Tuesday 12:30-2 p.m. K-25
March 13  Tuesday 4:30-6 p.m. K-25
March 27 Tuesday 12:30-2 p.m. K-25
April 10 Tuesday 12:30-2 p.m. K-25
April 24 Tuesday 4:30-6 p.m. K-25

 

    Lompoc Valley Center
February 12 Monday 2-3:30 p.m. Bldg 2-101
March 12 Monday 4:30-6 p.m. Bldg 2-101
April 23 Monday 4:30-6 p.m. Bldg 2-101

 

STUDY SKILLS WORKSHOP

The Counseling Department has developed this workshop to help students develop/improve their study skills.  The workshop will also provide an activity that focuses on self-awareness and how it may relate to study styles/habits.  By attending this workshop, students will learn strategies to perform better and be successful in and out of the classroom.

Santa Maria Campus 
February 6 Tuesday 4:30-6 p.m. K-25
February 20 Tuesday 12:30-2 p.m. K-25
March 6 Tuesday 12:30-2 p.m. K-25
March 20 Tuesday 12:30-2 p.m. K-25
April 3 Tuesday 4:30-6 p.m. K-25
April 17 Tuesday 12:30-2 p.m. K-25

 

    Lompoc Valley Center
February 26 Monday 3-4:30 p.m. Bldg 2-101
March 26 Monday 3-4:30 p.m. Bldg 2-101
April 9 Monday 3-4:30 p.m. Bldg 2-101
May 14 Monday 2-3:30 p.m. Bldg 2-101

UNIVERSITY TRANSFER CENTER WORKSHOPS

The University Transfer Center (UTC) provides informative workshops to assist students in the transfer process. View a list of scheduled workshops.

AHC NURSING PROGRAM WORKSHOP

During the nursing workshops you will learn about our CNA, LVN, and RN requirements. This includes, prerequisites, application deadlines, AHC graduation requirements, the Board of Registered Nursing (BRN) requirements, and nursing priority registration. This workshop is intended for all students interested in AHC's nursing program. Prior to attending the workshop, students are required to complete an AHC admission application. In addition, students will receive an abbreviated Student Education Plan. 

Santa Maria Campus
January 17 Wednesday 12-1 p.m. A-103
February 21 Wednesday 5-6 p.m. A-103
March 16 Friday 12-1 p.m. A-103
April 10 Thursday 12-1 p.m. A-103
May 23 Wednesday 5-6 p.m. A-103

 

Lompoc Valley Center
January 24 Wednesday 12-1 p.m. Bldg 1-202/203
March 21 Wednesday 5-6 p.m. Bldg 1-202/203
May 10 Thursday 12-1 p.m. Bldg 1-202/2013

PATHWAYS TO A BACHELOR'S OF SCIENCE IN NURSING (BSN) WORKSHOP

Interested in transferring to a BSN program? Attend this workshop and learn more about the following routes to a BSN program:
*Basic Nursing or Pre Licensure program
*LVN to BSN
*ADN (RN) to BSN

In addition, you will learn about common prerequisites, CSU and UC general education requirements, admission application deadlines, and TEAS testing.

 Santa Maria Campus
January 16 Tuesday 12-1 p.m. A-103
February 23 Friday 12-1 p.m. A-103
March 15 Thursday 12-1 p.m. A-103
April 27 Friday 5-6 p.m. A-103
May 17 Thursday 12-1 p.m. A-103

 

Lompoc Valley Center
January 26 Friday 12-1 p.m. Bldg 1-202/203
March 12 Monday 5-6 p.m. Bldg 1-202/203
May 15 Tuesday 12-1 p.m. Bldg 1-202/203

 

 

Top of Page

SPOTLIGHT

Collete Layton

Collete Layton
Fire Technology

"My experience in Allan Hancock College's Fire Academy was phenomenal. I received a top-notch education from experienced instructors who were dedicated to training the next generation of firefighters. The hands-on training we received in the college's state-of-the-art facility was an amazing opportunity and prepared me for my current job as a firefighter for the Atascadero department of fire and emergency services."

We're Changing
the Odds! 

Hancock College Video Thumbnail

Follow Hancock

icon-facebook icon-twitter icon-youtube Instagram Icon Flickr Icon More Social Media


Student Success Scorecard

Last Modified Feb 15, 2018