Workshops

 

The Counseling Department offers informational workshops to educate students and assist them in reaching their academic/career goals.  See below for more details.    

ACADEMIC ADVISING WORKSHOPS (AAW) 

All New Students must attend an AAW in order to receive priority registration. Priority registration is extremely beneficial at a college campus. You will have the opportunity to register for classes much sooner than other students. In the AAW you meet with a counselor who will assist you in understanding your assessment results (START test) and help you develop a 1st semester plan as a new student. View a list of dates for an AAW.

GRADES MATTER

The Counseling Department has developed this workshop to help students understand his/her academic and/or progress standing.  Students will learn strategies to get back on track and regain good standing with the college.  The workshop will also cover the consequences of being on probation such as unit limitation, financial aid eligibility, and priority registration.  Students who receive a probation email notification are strongly encouraged to attend the workshop.

Santa Maria Campus, A-103   
February 9 Tuesday 4-5:30 p.m.
February 24 Wednesday 10-11:30 a.m.
March 8  Tuesday 4-5:30 p.m.
March 23 Wednesday 10-11:30 a.m.
April 12 Tuesday 4-5:30 p.m.
April 27 Wednesday 10-11:30 a.m.
May 10 Tuesday 4-5:30 p.m.
May 25 Wednesday 10-11:30 a.m.

 

Lompoc Valley Center    
February 23 Tuesday 10-11:30 a.m. Bldg. 2-101
March 16 Wednesday 4-5:30 p.m. Bldg, 2-102
April 19 Tuesday 10-11:30 a.m. Bldg. 2-101
May 18 Wednesday 4-5:30 p.m. Bldg. 2-102

 

UNIVERSITY TRANSFER CENTER WORKSHOPS

The University Transfer Center (UTC) provides informative workshops to assist students in the transfer process. View a list of scheduled workshops.

NURSING WORKSHOPS

During the nursing workshops you will learn about our CNA, LVN, and RN requirements. This includes, prerequisites, application deadlines, AHC graduation requirements, the Board of Registered Nursing (BRN) requirements, and nursing priority registration. This workshop is intended for all students interested in AHC's nursing program. Prior to attending the workshop, students are required to complete an AHC admission application. In addition, students will receive an abbreviated Student Education Plan. 

Santa Maria Campus, A-103   
January 12 Tuesday 5-6 p.m.
January 14 Thursday 12-1 p.m.
January 20 Wednesday 2-3 p.m.
February 17 Wednesday 12-1 p.m.
March 15 Wednesday 5-6 p.m.
April 18 Monday 3-4 p.m.
May 17 Tuesday 12-1 p.m.
June 8 Wednesday 2-3 p.m.

 

Lompoc Valley Center, Bldg. 1-202   
January 13 Wednesday 12-1 p.m.
January 19 Tuesday 5-6 p.m.
March 22 Wednesday 4:30-5:30 p.m.
May 18 Wednesday 12-1 p.m.

PATHWAYS TO A BACHELOR'S OF SCIENCE IN NURSING (BSN)

Interested in transferring to a BSN program? Attend this workshop and learn more about the following routes to a BSN program:
*Basic Nursing or Pre Licensure program
*LVN to BSN
*ADN (RN) to BSN

In addition, you will learn about common prerequisites, CSU and UC general education requirements, admission application deadlines, and TEAS testing.

 Santa Maria Campus
January 13 Wednesday 1:30-2:30 p.m. A-103
January 21 Thursday 12-1 p.m. A-103
February 23 Tuesday 5-6 p.m. A-403
March 18 Friday 2-3 p.m. A-103
April 20 Wednesday 12-1 p.m. A-103
May 24 Tuesday 10:30-11:30 a.m. A-403
June 7 Tuesday 5-6 p.m. A-103

 

Top of Page

ESL Spotlight

Maria Ayala
ESL Student

"Deciding to go back to school to learn English and obtain my GED has been one of the most important decisions I ever made. My credit ESL instructors guided and helped me to adjust to my new life as a student. They understood me as a student and as a person. Being a full-time worker, a full-time student, and a mother of three was not easy, but my instructors encouraged me to keep going. They spent time with me revising my writing and giving me feedback to improve my English, even after class time. They made me feel welcome and proud of being a student later in life. Now, I am a Hancock graduate with three AAs and am currently attending Cal Poly. I'm here because my instructors encouraged me to never give up. My ESL instructors believed in me even before I started believing in myself. It has been a long and not so easy road but I now know that I can reach all my goals."
Submit a Testimonial »

Start here 
go anywhere

AHC - Start Here. Go Anywhere

Follow Hancock

icon-facebook icon-twitter icon-youtube Instagram Icon More Social Media


Student Success Scorecard

Last Modified Feb 3, 2016