Curriculum Committee


CTE Curriculum Academy,  January 15 - 16, 2015, Anaheim

Chancellor's Office (through Perkins Leadership Funds), CCCAOE and the Academic Senate will host the first CTE Curriculum Academy "Doing What Matters for CTE Students: A Collaboration of CTE Faculty with Economic Workforce Development (EWD) and Regional Leaders".  For registration information visit the Academic Senate for California Community Colleges at

CTE Doing What Matters

"The Doing What Matters for Jobs and the Economy initiative began its rollout in 2013. The program chose 10 economic sectors in various regions of the state in which it would focus its attention and resources.  Also, representatives from various regions of the state were selected to coordinate efforts between local community colleges and key business leaders to help foster job growth within a particular industry".  Read the full EWD report,  2014 Economic and Workforce Development Program Annual Report, below for details and to view the top 10 economic sectors that have been targeted for investment.


 Academic Policy & Planning (AP&P) Committee 

The Academic Policy and Planning Committee (AP&P) provides recommendations through the Academic Senate to the District Board of Trustees regarding courses and instructional programs. AP&P is the vehicle through which curriculum development takes place and is one of four standing committees established in accordance with the Report of the Committee on Committees of 1968 as approved by the Academic Senate.

The committee's functions are in accordance with the above mentioned report. Briefly, its area of concern is: curricula, proposed changes and revisions, academic standards, future curriculum planning, the coordination and organization of instructional planning and practices as they relate to the teaching faculty. The AP&P Committee at Allan Hancock College assists in the development of educational programs and courses in accordance with the philosophy, policies, and objectives of the college.


AP&P Committee Members

Chairperson Sofia Ramirez-Gelpi ext. 3608
 Co-Chair  Tom Vander Molen ext. 3871
Applied Behavioral Sciences Judith Dal Porto ext. 3381
Associated Student Body Government Quianna Cater ext. 3736
Business Margaret "Peggy" Warrick ext. 5259
Counseling Lydia Maxwell ext. 3332
English Jennifer Jozwiak ext. 3787
Fine Arts David Passage ext. 3726
Health & Physical Sciences Sheri Bates ext. 3287
Industrial Technology Robert Mabry ext. 3487
Languages & Communication Melinda Nishimori ext. 3736
Life & Physical Sciences Robert Lennihan ext. 3695
Mathematical Sciences Derek Mitchem ext. 3563
Academic/Student Services Sandra Bierdzinski ext. 3474
Public Safety Michael Messina ext. 3809
Social & Behavioral Sciences Tom Vandermolen ext. 3871
Curriculum Specialist (non-voting) Rebecca Andres ext. 3246
Articulation (non-voting) David DeGroot ext. 3713
VP, Academic Affairs (non-voting) Luis Sanchez ext. 3247
Admissions & Records (non-voting) Janet Hooghuis ext. 3277
Noncredit Vacant  


AP&P Calendar

Curriculum proposals are submitted in CurricUnet and in accordance with the AP&P Calendar.  Proposals submitted after the published deadline will be reviewed the following semester (excluding summer).  For more information please contact Academic Affairs at 922-6966 ext. 3246.


CurricUnet has been implemented fall 2014.  Faculty initiators planning to submit a curriculum proposal will need to attend a scheduled training to establish a valid user name and password.  The following proposal types may be submitted electronically via CurricUnet:

  • New course proposals
  • Major course modifications
  • Textbook changes
  • Course outcome changes

Faculty are encouraged to bring a paper version of their proposal to a scheduled training for hands on training.  Visit for additional curriculum development resource documents and training dates.


CurricUNET Meta

Coming soon to Allan Hancock College!




Top of Page

Last Modified Nov 21, 2014