Events and Announcements

The library will be closed for winter break from December 14 through January 21, and will reopen at 8 am on Tuesday, January 22, 2019. Have a wonderful break!

 

Spring 2019 library workshops

Research Workshops: Are you new to the world of college research? Do you want to better understand how to find good, trustworthy sources for your papers, reports and speeches? This is your lucky day: the library will be offering over 20 workshops. These workshops will cover such topics as searching the library catalog for books and streaming videos, finding ebooks, searching the article databases, what makes a journal article "peer-reviewed" and much more. These workshops are open to all students and staff and attendance is limited to the first 18 individuals who arrive. Some instructors will offer extra credit to students who attend, so ask your teacher! Workshops will be offered on the following dates and times:

Monday, February 11, 2:30-3:30 pm

Monday, February 25, 7-8 pm

Tuesday, February 26, 9-10 am

Thursday, March 7, 11 am-12 pm

Thursday, March 7, 6-7 pm

Wednesday, March 13, 11:30 am-12:30 pm

Tuesday, March 26, 10:30-11:30 am

Tuesday, March 26, 6:30-7:30 pm

Thursday, March 28, 7-8 pm

Thursday, April 4, 9-10 am

Monday, April 8, 10-11 am

Wednesday, April 17, 2-3 pm

Tuesday, April 23, 12:30-1:30 pm

Wednesday, April 24, 6:30-7:30 pm

Thursday, May 2, 12-1 pm

Monday, May 6, 7-8 pm

Tuesday, May 7, 11:30 am-12:30 pm

Wednesday, May 8, 6-7 pm

Thursday, May 9, 9:30-10:30 am

Thursday, May 9, 7-8 pm

Monday, May 13, 11 am-12 pm

Tuesday, May 14, 2-3 pm

Wednesday, May 15, 10-11 am

Wednesday, May 15, 7-8 pm

 

LBRY 170 poster

  • LBRY 170 Class: There is still time to enroll in LBRY 170! Do you want to become a better researcher? Sign up for LBRY 170 (Library Research Methods) this spring. This online class is 2 units and will cover the basics of college-level research. LBRY 170 is CRN 41669.
  • Friends of the Library Book Club: Allan Hancock College Friends of the Library invites all staff and faculty to participate in timely discussions, develop relationships with peers and mentors, gain a fresh perspective, and re-energize as a team, all through a monthly Book Club! We will be reading a variety of genres to include a mix of fiction and non-fiction. Our next meeting will be Wednesday, January 23, from 12-1pm in L-337. We will be discussing the book Beloved by Toni Morrison. The next book club meeting will be on Wednesday, February 20, from 12-1 pm (in L-337) and we will be discussing  Hyperbole and a Half, by Allie Brosh. This opportunity can earn you Professional Development hours. Please contact Vickey Smith at ext 3492 or Susie Kopecky at ext. 3453 for more info. 
  • Makerspaces in the Library! The first and third Wednesdays of the month, the makerspace returns! From 1-4 pm, come to the AHC Library lobby (Santa Maria campus) and receive assistance with the project. After 4 pm, materials will remain out till closing (10 pm). All supplies will be provided and this is completely free and open to all! The makerspace themes for this fall semester tentatively include make your own poetry, books, sewable electronics, books, painted rocks, and cards.
  • OER Drop-In Hours: AHC faculty - Do you have questions about Open Educational Resources (OERs)? Come by the Santa Maria campus library and we can assist you. Drop by the library any time between 1-3 pm on Tuesdays and a librarian will assist you. 
  • Welcome to a new semester, and a brand new offering from your library.  You can now enjoy complimentary access to the New York Times digital content and the Wall Street Journal digital content with unlimited access to articles, news, videos and multimedia*. 

To set up your New York Times account for the first time, you must be on our campus internet network.  Click on the image below, and follow the steps as directed on the webpage  accessnyt.com

nyt 

To set up your Wall Street Journal account for the first time, students, faculty and staff can activate their WSJ memberships via this URL:  
wsjIf you are having trouble creating an account, or have any questions—please stop by the library reference desk and we would be happy to help.
*ask the library about restrictions including crosswords and date ranges

Top of Page

We're Changing
the Odds! 

Hancock College Video Thumbnail

Follow Hancock

icon-facebook icon-twitter icon-youtube Instagram Icon Flickr Icon More Social Media


Student Success Scorecard

Last Modified Jan 16, 2019